The best ever paleo smoothie

Mornings have been the most difficult to find an easy, fulfilling paleo breakfast. Sure on the weekends, it’s easy to scramble a few eggs and bacon with a side of berries, but that’s not such an easy task when you’ve got to be in the office at 8am. This past week, I asked the Twitterverse to recommend some great paleo smoothies. Within a few minutes, I had 4 different recommendations all with fairly similar ingredients – fruit, coconut milk, paleo nut butter, eggs, whey, and avocado. I myself had heard lots of paleos eating almond butter or drinking coconut milk, but this was not something I had ventured into just yet. My determination for a great smoothie pushed me to try it. Earthfare carries all kinds of nut butters other than peanut (peanuts are actually legumes, so they are not paleo) – almond, cashew, hazelnut and coconut milk – currently there’s a coupon for $1 off their coconut milk attached to the half gallon carton.

Here’s the recipe for my current favorite paleo smoothie:
a cup of frozen berries
1 banana
2 tbsp almond butter
coconut milk filled up to ingredients in blender (about a cup or 1.5 cups)
a little crushed ice

I like for it to be really cold, so the frozen berries and little bit of ice help. I’ve had this smoothie the past 2 mornings in a row, and it has been delicious! Usually I’m starving by mid morning, but this has helped tremendously with that. Also, you can certainly add some eggs for a little extra protein, especially if you work  out in the mornings. Enjoy! And let me know of any great paleo smoothie recipes you come across. I’m always looking for recommendations.

Leave a Reply

