CrossFit – The ridiculously fun workout

Lately I’ve been giving updates on paleo living and sharing some of my favorite recipes. Now that I have just completed my second month of CrossFit training over at CrossFit Ktown, I thought it would be best to share what’s been going on over at the gym. CrossFit isn’t your typical “globo gym” workout. There are no isolated bicep curls, mirrors on the walls, or a treadmill to be found anywhere. You will find gymnastic rings, pull up bars, plenty of barbells and bounce weights, kettlebells, and the dreaded row machines. As I’ve written in an earlier post, CrossFit is designed to mimic movements we do in our daily lives. We do squats to protect our back from heavy lifting by bending at the knees rather than at the hips. We use kettlebells to keep all of our muscles engaged and increase our strength as the weight moves around in our hands. We do Olympic lifts that require our entire body strength that quickly strengthen and lean us out. We do sprints in the 100 degree heat because let’s face it, it’s just fun! (note: extreme sarcasm)

The coaches over at CrossFit Ktown have been great and so much fun to work with (yea I’m talking about you: Grant, Jessie, Erin, Taylor, and CBo). All of the boxes we use for box jumps have sayings on them, some funny and others serious. One of the boxes says, “Training is a process, not the events of one day.”  That is definitely the philosophy over at CrossFit Ktown.  You’ll regularly hear Coach G say, “Doesn’t matter where you are as long as you’re always progressing and getting stronger.”  Where you usually find gyms very cold and depressing, CrossFit Ktown is encouraging, challenging, driving you to want to get better.  I’ve done things just in these past two months I never thought I could do such as deadlifting 115 lbs. or finishing a WOD like “Erin” where I’m not going to lie, I was a bit scared right before we got started. Note: the named ones are always the difficult ones. To be completely honest, I’ve had a blast with everyone these past two months. I look forward to my evening class and feel so much better and more energetic after a CrossFit day. To top it all off, I’ve shed 4 lbs. of body weight since we first started 2 months ago.  Seeing results is the biggest motivator one can have.

I know my progression has loads to do with combining paleo with CrossFit, and I’m still doing yoga to stay limber and flexible. You can’t overlook how important flexibility and spine health is for any workout program.  I know the inevitable plateau will probably hit here soon, but I’ll be ready for it reminding myself to just keep pushing to get better a little bit at a time.

5 thoughts on “CrossFit – The ridiculously fun workout

  1. James "Rise Up" Ellis says:

    Great post Lyns, keep up the great work! I look forward to reading your post about crossfit after a year. I’ve been there almost year now and everyday I go in I’m just as excited as the first day I started.

  2. lynsaycaylor says:

    Hey Callie and James!

    Thank you so much for the extra words of encouragement! You guys are always so great to see in the gym – such happy, smiling faces. (even if you are on crutches – boo)

Leave a Reply

