My 2011 New Year’s Resolution List

I’m not one for making New Year’s Resolutions, but this year I think I will partake in this yearly ritual. Mainly because I want to do as much as I can to make myself adhere to the things that bring balance in my life. As the years go by, I feel as though I get busier each year, sometimes at a supersonic pace over the last. This year in particular, each passing month brought with it more items to add to my “to do” list rather than take them off. The beginning of a new year does seem to be the best time to change something in your life. Well, for this year, the name of the game for me is Accountability. I want to well document this year so that by December, I know what I’ve accomplished. So here goes to a 2011 filled with these 5 things:

1. Strict Paleo: A lot of times I let myself cheat here and there. Lately, the excuses are outweighing the rules. I don’t want to rationalize exceptions as much as I have been. Therefore, kicking off the year with #glutenfreejanuary, there will be no grains, legumes, sugar, or dairy in my diet. Most importantly – NO POTATOES! For some reason, I’m obsessed with them, and I must end this relationship now before it gets out of control.

2. Daily entries in my Food Journal: I stopped this a couple months ago because I hated staring at “Friday, October ___: like half a pan of toll house cookies.” If I don’t want to write it down, I’m not going to eat it!

3. CrossFit 3 days/wk, Yoga 1-2 days/wk: For any of you CrossFitters out there, you know how intense some of our workouts can be. Lately I have been at the gym fewer days a week which equates to lots-o-soreness. However, good stretching can help you get back to the gym functioning at your normal level. I’m bringing back the yoga!

4. Make a list EVERY DAY and track every task completed: Do you ever find yourself leaving work, exhausted, and yet you feel like you didn’t get things done that you really wanted to? With any job, you’re going to have things that come up, things you must deal with, and then those 1 hour scheduled meetings easily turn to 3 and you have to dump something else off your plate for the day. Most days, if I actually have the act of writing down where I am in projects and crossing off tasks as I go, I have a much better feeling of “where the day went.”

5. Reading: I subscribe to I-don’t-know how many blogs and have a stack of a least a dozen books waiting on me at my home office. Time to start cracking. Because as Ricky Bobby says, “If you’re not first, you’re last.”

So there’s my list of 5, and I hope to keep regular blog posts with updates on my progress. This is my “little experiment” for the year. I’m curious, how many of you actually set New Year’s Resolutions and what do you do to keep yourself motivated? I’m always looking for tips and tricks. Well, hope you all have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

