Paleo Challenge Day 42

 

There are so many things that I’ve learned in just a little over a month on the paleo challenge. The last two weeks have been great for me. People are starting to notice that I look leaner – many of whom know that I’ve been doing the challenge, so they know it has a lot to do with the way that I’m eating. That makes me more excited than anything. I know that when I’ve seen people who look lean or healthy, I wonder what their secret is. Are they just naturally that way? Do they work out for hours on end every day? Do they ever eat junk food? I can honestly say that the results I’ve had come from no secret formula – just strict paleo eating and regular exercise. It can be that simple.

 

I’ve been thinking more and more about lifestyle maintenance and balance. I do believe that the most important thing in daily living is a life that is balanced – meaning there isn’t just one thing in life that is your entire life. I think American culture teaches us to often be laser-focused on a goal and work only to achieve that goal in as little time as possible. Not that there’s anything wrong with having goals and working toward them. However, working just to achieve a goal and not taking in everything that happens along the way including changing direction somewhere, could mean missing out on something great.

 

Along with CrossFit and the many outdoor activities I enjoy, I have been practicing yoga since I was 12 years old. Only when I reached my 20s did I actually receive in-depth personal instruction, but the years of practice before then helped me to understand some of the central values of yoga practice. I know a lot of people hear the word “yoga” and instantly think of granola people in hemp sandals and use words like “man” and “dude” a lot. I am sometimes mistaken as a “tree hugger” because of my yoga-practicing-outdoor-loving ways. But that’s okay, because I love so many things about yoga. Yoga teaches you to be present, to release yourself from judgment especially self-judgment, to face challenges bravely because they are essential to life, to always strive for balance, and to not take yourself too seriously (definitely good to smile during yoga practice).

 

The balance I feel in my life at the moment comes from many things – but especially through the things I’ve learned from yoga, CrossFit, and a paleo lifestyle. I feel so very blessed and full and look forward to many more things later in life that may come my way.

Leave a Reply

