My paleo staples

After reading Mark Sisson’s post “How Important Is Food Variety,” inevitably it made me think about my regular paleo eats and how often I have to switch it up to ward off food boredom.  I do believe that food boredom is something everyone experiences whether you stick to a particular diet plan or if you eat willy nilly as well as if you eat out a lot or cook at home. Growing up, my family ate out a lot, so we would eat at the same restaurants within in fairly small radius. I continued eating in that fashion even after I ventured out on my own. I worked in restaurants through high school & college and usually brought home leftovers, so cooking for myself consisted of grilled cheese, french toast, soup out of a can and eggs. I may be the exception more than the rule here as going primal opened up a whole new world of food options for me. I also cook more meals now than ever before, and by “cook” I mean actually cook with pots and pans, usually from scratch & without involving the microwave.

Crazy thing is, my life certainly hasn’t gotten any less hectic in the last year, but I’m able to find the time to cook more. I think my “usual paleo eats” have a lot to do with this. I have refined my favorite paleo foods and found ways to make them even simpler. And it’s your lucky day because I will share them all with you! (Note: It is likely that you will not share the EXACT SAME tastes as me, so please modify as you see fit.)

Mornings

My morning staples are usually coffee and either  a smoothie or leftovers. The key to a good smoothie is a good blender. My favorite is the Ninja, partly because of the name, partly because it’s a blending badass.

Here are my favorite smoothie ingredients:

A combination of fresh and frozen berries (strawberries & blueberries are my favs)

Unsweetened So Delicious coconut milk (from the cold section at the grocery store)

Fresh ground almond butter (just almonds, no oil or salt)

I’ve tried coconut milk from a can and find it disgusting in a smoothie. I have tried every type of berry possible, but the sweeter berries usually work out the best. There are a lot of almond butters out there that have all kinds of crazy oils added to them. Therefore, I just stick to the freshly ground stuff from Earthfare. I think it tastes the best too.

Lunchtime

With so many varieties, you can’t really go wrong with a salad. Leave off the cheese (unless you get some raw milk cheese) and throw on some oil & vinegar or lemon and you’re set!

Here is a list of my favorite salads when going out:

Panera – Greek salad with grilled chicken or Grilled Chicken Cobb Salad

Bravo – New Balsamico Chicken Cobb Salad – leave off the cheese & pasta strips

Gourmet Market – Greek salad with grilled chicken or Market Salad with grilled chicken, their tuna salad is also pretty rockin’.

Lenny’s – Grilled Chicken Philly Salad w/ everything but no cheese

Dinner Specialties

Dinner is where I will mix it up a bit. I always cook with organic grass-fed or pasture raised meats. Most often I choose a grass-fed helping of ground sirloin or pasture raised chicken. Spices are what make these meals great. I most often use chili powder, fresh garlic, sea salt, ground pepper, red pepper flakes, dill, oregano, tumeric, cumin, or cinnamon. You can’t really go wrong with dashing your food with spices. I try to keep cooking simple by always having good veggies on hand like spinach, brussel sprouts, broccoli, celery, or asparagus. I’ve finally learned it’s more important to use REALLY good ingredients than spending 1-2 hours on a really fancy dish. You wear yourself out trying to cook like that all the time.

Leave a Reply

